The Best Thing I’m Going To Do This Year

Followers of this blog will know that I hold organizations that do good works for girls in the highest regard. I wrote a post here once about a conversation I had with my 5-year-old daughter, in which I tried to help her understand how incredibly lucky she is to go to school every day, because lots of girls don’t get that opportunity. That conversation ended with her asking if we could help girls who want to go to school but can’t, which prompted me to find a way to ensure that I could answer a resounding, “Yes.”

And then I found out about Camfed – the Campaign for Female Education.

When you educate a girl in Africa, everything changes. First and foremost, she gets a fighting chance. She’ll be three times less likely to get HIV/AIDS. She’ll increase her earning potential by 25 percent. She’ll have a smaller, healthier family. And a girl who’s been given a chance will pay it forward, reinvesting 90% of her income into her family, helping to lift them, and by extension her community, out of the cycle of poverty. Since 1993, Camfed has brought innovative education programs to more than 1,451,600 children in some of the most impoverished areas of Zimbabwe, Zambia, Tanzania, Ghana and Malawi.

This year, I’ve made it my personal goal to push that number a little higher. In November I will run the 26.2-mile course of the New York City Marathon (for the third and final time) in the name of the 24 million girls in sub-Saharan Africa who can’t afford to go to school. I will raise enough money to fund a full year of high school, including supplies, school fees and clothing, for 10 girls.

When you educate a girl in Africa, everything changes.

If you’d like to help change everything, please visit my fundraising page at:  http://us.camfed.org/goto/Tracey2012

Feets, don’t fail me now!

About Tracey

Writer. Mother. Eater. Also Chief at Big Words Creative.

Leave a Reply

